Claudio Magris

On democracy, memory and Central Europe

Format: Hardcover
Date of issue: 2019
Pages: 300
Language: polish
Dimensions: 17 x 22 cm
Delivery time: 48 hours



Out of stock

Powiadom mnie o dostępności

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
SKU ISBN 978-83-66419-03-2 Kategoria

Product description

This anthology of essays by Claudio Magris will reveal to Polish readers a new face of the Italian author: not only an eminent writer and historian of literature, but also an intellectual, journalist and citizen passionately interested in the condition of the community, our modern polis, regardless of whether we define it as our city, our country, or our Europe.

The anthology covers half a century of essayistic writings by Magris, from the legendary “Hapsburg Myth in Austrian modern literature” (1963) to “Secrets and non‑secrets” (2014). The co‑author of the selection and translator Joanna Ugniewska grouped the texts into thematic blocks, presenting material which is extremely rich, but also astonishingly homogenous, focusing around a number of key concepts: law, secularism, memory, identity, borderlands, the Habsburg myth. Eighth volume of the series Library of Central Europe, edited by Jack Purchla.
Publication in Polish.

Similar products